I’m back…

A funny thing happened while I was catching up on the news the other day… I came across a link to the site for Think Progress. When I clicked on it, a site opened for “Think Progress: A Radical Right-Wing Agenda.” I thought, “What’s wrong with this picture?” I try to stay informed on all perspectives… but I normally wouldn’t waste my time trying to be informed about a “Radical Right-Wing Agenda.” I figure, haven’t we had enough of that already? I mean, a bunch of OWM+MS (Old White Men and Michael Steele)… we’ve been there and suffered that! (oops, looking at me from the outside, you’d confuse me with one of them! If you know me you understand that I’m anything but!) But I digress…

I quickly realized that I’d come across my kind of site… and have included it in my daily news readings since. I’ve always been a voracious follower of the news. Now that have fewer demands on my time than I used to, I can consume the news the way I always wished to have the time to.

This is shaping up to be a great year… full of hope and promise, wish lots of news to follow and with which to be involved. You see, I have always been a proud American who truly sees himself as a citizen of the world. And as such, I am a strong supporter of democracy and am equally anti-authoritarian. And along with the Rights afforded us by the Constitution, I believe that we all have the responsibility to activity participate in our democracy; a Government By and For the People, regardless of race, creed or sexual orientation. If we are unhappy with the way something is done, or affecting our lives, we have the responsibility to be involved in changing it, within the rule-of-law.

Of course I am concerned with the ever growing list of issues which the nation must tackle. As of today’s count, I figure that there are at least 15 that need our attention. And they all beg for the attention of the entire nation right now; so much so that it is hard to rank-order them from most to least pressing or urgent.

Explore posts in the same categories: politics

Leave a Reply

